bikes direct and immortal ice review

ski798

Aug 25, 2010
thanks for all the help; read for 3 weeks all of the posts, positive and negative; have already been pleased by the woman's model for my wife and daughter-they love their bikes. Been looking for my 1st road bike, have only ridden mtb for last 26 yrs; 1st. Specialized Stumpjumper Team Pink, 2nd, a Ritchey Timber comp, now a Lightspeed Piscah-now set up w/Ritchey WCS fork, came w/roxshox. Even so it weighs in at 23+lbs. Read everything I could, I ended up getting the Motobecane Immortal Ice(16 lbs.) Was nervous spending $1800., but for the price I couldn't go wrong. I ordered it on a Saturday and it arrived the following friday the 13th, just before I started back to work(teaching). UPS did a great job, the box looked perfect-no dents or dings.(ha ha) It was so easy to put together, maybe cuz I've been stripping bikes to bearings for 30+ years. If you know what your doing it's no-brainer stuff. Spent another 30 minutes or so my first ride dialing in seat position/height; the brakes and derailers were surprisingly dialed in out of box(not so with the Gigi's, had to adjust cables.) Got Shimano pedals to complete the set, I didn't know wellgo still existed after Supergo died. I love this bike! It looks great, the full carbon frame smoothes out the road. I can't believe how easy it is to accelerate while still in the saddle. Have ridden up Mt Diablo several times now(north gate) and have not needed the 28 tooth cog, felt much faster. Just got my polar set up for it so now I have some reference to make some comparisons wrt speed. Just road to school in Benicia today (25 m round trip,) I took five minutes off my time going from 45 to 40 minutes.