Bikes & The Law - New Topic?

Discussion in 'Tell us what you think!' started by bikelawyer, Oct 6, 2003.

1. bikelawyer

bikelawyer New Member

Anyone interested in bikes and the law? I have written extensively on this topic and often find there is a disconnect between what the law is and what folks THINK the law is... This is my first time on this forum, but it strikes me that the legal end of cycling could be represented!

SMM

Tags:

2. Mouse Potato

Mouse Potato New Member

I'd be the first to admit that I know practically nothing about it, but I'm curious as to how much bike-related laws vary from country to country, or even from state to state (I'm in Australia, by the way).

It would also be interesting to know whether they generally derive from laws pertaining to automobiles, or share a common historical vehicle basis, or are closer to laws for pedestrians, or were derived independently, or whatever.

3. less'go

less'go New Member

Seems like a great idea to me, although I don't know what part of the world your from and obviously bike laws must vary greatly from place to place. That in itself is an interesting subject. I'm curious about bike laws in Holland and other countries where bike use is extensive, vs. other countries. Ad by extension, how we can help our local bike laws evolver.

Sara

4. bikelawyer

bikelawyer New Member