Bikesdirect or local bike shop?

GV2013

Jun 6, 2010
In the market for a new road bike. I wont be able to spend a ton, probably 800 tops, and I was wondering if it would be better to go bikes direct and get something with shimano 105/tiagra components or spend about the same and get shimano 2300/sora components and all the service/warranty the shop offers. Is there that much of a performance difference between those or do they both function well? I know they are all entry level but I am a rookie when it comes to road bikes. thanks.

GV2013 said:
In the market for a new road bike. I wont be able to spend a ton, probably 800 tops, and I was wondering if it would be better to go bikes direct and get something with shimano 105/tiagra components or spend about the same and get shimano 2300/sora components and all the service/warranty the shop offers. Is there that much of a performance difference between those or do they both function well? I know they are all entry level but I am a rookie when it comes to road bikes. thanks.

Frankly, Bikes Direct has some great bike offerings, but they usually need a bit of fettling once you get them, fettling in terms of adjustment and proper assembly. With that said, being a newby, you might want to cultivate a relationship with an LBS as it's a great way to get questions answered, get service help, learn maintenance, and so on. Your best bet might be to buy a Bikes Direct bike and have it assembled at your LBS. The only downside to this is assuring proper fit. As a newbie, you may not know how to properly fit a bike and thus run the risk of ordering a bike that is the wrong size. You'll need some sizing input.

Of course, getting the bike at the bike shop does get you a warranty and service, which is invaluable, and hopefully it also gets you a proper fit.

What bikes are you looking at?