bolt grease ????

swimmeronwheels

Oct 9, 2003
I'm a newbie to this and I'm going to be changing the pedals on my bike. I plan to grease the threads as every bicycle maintenance/repair thing I've read suggests.

But, What kind of grease should I use? Is it the same for any threaded bolt I mess with?

Thanks.

Originally posted by swimmeronwheels
I'm a newbie to this and I'm going to be changing the pedals on my bike. I plan to grease the threads as every bicycle maintenance/repair thing I've read suggests.

But, What kind of grease should I use? Is it the same for any threaded bolt I mess with?

Thanks.

There are tons of bicycle greases out there. I just bought a tube of Phil Wood waterproof grease but I've used Pedro's synthetic in the past. Good job on knowing to grease!!

Originally posted by MtnBikerChk
There are tons of bicycle greases out there. I just bought a tube of Phil Wood waterproof grease but I've used Pedro's synthetic in the past. Good job on knowing to grease!!

It should be the grease like for bearings ... not the lube like for the chain?

I use Loctite blue, as recommended by my mechanic, on all bolts. It also worked great on my bathtub faucet that constantly loosened.

Thanks.

Try the pedro's syn lube. It works really well and is available at just about any bike shop.

You have all validated my question. Apparently all three options are in use:

A) silicone adhesive
B) grease, thickish
C) lube, suitable for a chain

I'm picking B. If I have trouble with something loosening in the first place, then I'll consider silicone adhesive. And lube would probably wear off, out sooner than the grease. That's just my guess.

Nobody combines grease & adhesive, do they? That seems self defeating (unless the grease saves the threads and the adhesive holds it all together later).