Bombing down a hill?!

OwnedByJolie

Sep 14, 2004
I'm 22 and havent ridden a bicycle since i was 10 years old. I recently bought a Trek 1200 Road Bike and rode it for the first time tonight. I went up the hill and down the hill through a normal neighborhood street. As i was going down the hill i couldnt help but use the breaks all the way down due to being fearful. I know i've seen pros go down a hill at high speeds, but being a newbie I havent fully given my trust to my thin tires yet and am scared of doing an endo out of no where.

Has anyone ever low-sided from going too fast on a turn? or just flipping over and by doing an endo?

On a neighborhood street I don't generally get over 25 mph because there's too many things that can reach out and hit you (cars, pedestrians, tennis balls, etc.) When I'm out on a real road I open it up a little more. Even coming off mountains, I don't really like going faster than about 35, personally.

I once low sided going around a rain slick turn. Turning so fast trying to beat the next wave of on coming cars that i slid right off the shoulder of the road and over a drainage ditch, where i managed to bike the bike off me, catch it, and run to a stop.. without anthing but my feet and tires ever touching the ground. :D All on my second ride with a road bike..ever. Still one of my more proud moments.

Just watch for cars. Test your limits. Ya might crash or wipe out once or twice, but it's how ya learn. I cant count how many many times I crashed while learning to MTB. THAT's where the REAL downhill action is at. After some serious MTB, road downhills are nuttin.

OwnedByJolie said: