bonking

If you say it to the average person in Australia, they'll assume you mean getting it on between the sheets, but in the cycling context Lance Armstrong used it extensivley in his book to describe glycogen depletion, or hunger flats.

I'm pretty new to the whole cycling thing myself, so some of the others may be able to explain it better, but from what I understand, the average person has about two to three hours of energy (stored as glycogen) in the muscles when used at a reasonable intensity. If no effort is made to top this up with food, you suffer exhaustion when this glycogen is depleted.

I've only experienced this on a bike once, but I can tell you it bites. I used to be a competitive swimmer and if I ended up completely exhausted after a session, the worst case scenario meant I had to walk 50m to the other end of the pool. But when you're out on the road, 30 miles from home and there's just nothing left in your legs... complete misery.

Originally posted by Cletus75
If you say it to the average person in Australia, they'll assume you mean getting it on between the sheets, but in the cycling context Lance Armstrong used it extensivley in his book to describe glycogen depletion, or hunger flats.

I'm pretty new to the whole cycling thing myself, so some of the others may be able to explain it better, but from what I understand, the average person has about two to three hours of energy (stored as glycogen) in the muscles when used at a reasonable intensity. If no effort is made to top this up with food, you suffer exhaustion when this glycogen is depleted.

I've only experienced this on a bike once, but I can tell you it bites. I used to be a competitive swimmer and if I ended up completely exhausted after a session, the worst case scenario meant I had to walk 50m to the other end of the pool. But when you're out on the road, 30 miles from home and there's just nothing left in your legs... complete misery.