Bottom Bracket Dilemma

yNotTri

Jul 2, 2013
Currently own a few bikes and trying to replace a crankset on a 2006 Cannondale R900. The bike came stock with the low end Campy group (Veloce) except for the bottom bracket and crankset. Cannondale opted for TruVativ GXP with the ISIS drive. What are the alternatives for replacing the crankset and if necessary the bottom bracket. Ultimately would like to replace with the Veloce crankset. I am by no means a bike mechanic and looking for some help to understand what the options are ?
Also have been searching for the specs on stock equipment and having trouble finding info.

Any advice would be appreciated. Before I go out and buy could use some understanding of what to consider !

The key thing is that your current Isis BB is threaded into an English BSA shell. IOW, you can use any English threaded bottom bracket on your bike. Purchase the crank you want and purchase the matching English bottom bracket and you're good to go. You'll need the appropriate tools to remove the current crank and bottom bracket and to install the new one or have a shop do it for you for a nominal charge but compatibility is not really an issue.

Alternatively you could keep your current Isis BB and find a compatible Isis crankset that you like but if you want a current generation Veloce crankset you'll want Campy's matching Power Torque BB cups but they'll thread into existing English BB shell.

-Dave

Originally Posted by yNotTri .

Currently own a few bikes and trying to replace a crankset on a 2006 Cannondale R900. The bike came stock with the low end Campy group (Veloce) except for the bottom bracket and crankset. Cannondale opted for TruVativ GXP with the ISIS drive. What are the alternatives for replacing the crankset and if necessary the bottom bracket. Ultimately would like to replace with the Veloce crankset. I am by no means a bike mechanic and looking for some help to understand what the options are ?