Bouncing in the saddle

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by Mouse Potato, Jun 28, 2003.

1. Mouse Potato

Mouse Potato New Member

Hello all... I wonder if you could give some advice to a total beginner.

I bought a second hand hybrid about 6 weeks ago for general fitness purposes, for an alternative to treadmill jogging and walking over winter (I also bought a mag trainer), and to learn how to ride (sad but true :D) so that in spring I can test ride road bikes without falling off (that's what I want to get into; the hybrid is temporary and disposable).

At first I could only sustain about 80rpm in low- to mid-range gears (legs not coordinated enough to go faster), but after a week or so 95-105rpm felt "right" (rpm determined by the high-tech counting method, by the way). I had a problem where it felt like I was bouncing up and down while pedalling at that rate, but I dialled the suspension seatpost up to maximum stiffness (the bike shop had left it close to maximum softness) and the bounce went away. At that time I could only manage a few minutes in top gear or high resistance without my thigh muscles complaining (there's a bigger difference in muscle usage compared to running than I expected) so I've been putting some effort into improving that. The trouble now is that when I want to do ~100rpm back in the low- to mid-range gears again, the up and down bouncing is back with a vengeance. Aside from probably looking dumb (I'm used to that :D), it feels weird and it's got to be inefficient.

I can do ~100rpm without bouncing in top gear (such as it is: 48 on the front, 14 on the back), but I can only keep that up for half an hour or so and I want to do some easy sessions on the mag trainer where I sustain that rate for at least an hour and preferably a lot longer (general fitness/aerobic conditioning comparable to what I do on the treadmill).