Brands and what they are best known for

SilentShifter

Aug 23, 2005
I am just getting into the road bike scene and have a question on what companies are known for doing things the best.

In other words what companies are best known for their rims, components, forks, seat posts, saddles, etc.? I am probably a long way from making any changes or upgrades, but when I get around to it, I want to be prepared.

I know some companies make a little of everything so what I am looking for is a company that is known for manufacturing one type of product better than other companies for the above said categories (or other ones as well).

Thanks so much!

SilentShifter said:
I am just getting into the road bike scene and have a question on what companies are known for doing things the best.

In other words what companies are best known for their rims, components, forks, seat posts, saddles, etc.? I am probably a long way from making any changes or upgrades, but when I get around to it, I want to be prepared.

I know some companies make a little of everything so what I am looking for is a company that is known for manufacturing one type of product better than other companies for the above said categories (or other ones as well).

Thanks so much!
Rims: Mavic, American Classic, Velocity (to name a few) all make excellent rims. You can buy machine built rims, or hand built. I tend to prefer hand built (you pick out the rim, the hub, and the spokes and someone builds it for you).

Components: Shimano and Campagnolo (Campy) - don't start a fued by asking which is better, they're both good, and each side has its loyal followers

Saddle: Whichever one fits good on your ****

3T, Bontrager,ITM make good bars, stems and seatposts.

Vredestein, Michelin, Continental make good tyres and inner tubes.
Time, Shimano, Look, make good clipless pedals.

badkarma said: