Breathing exercises?

sycomonkeys

Dec 22, 2004
I am an rookie cyclist. I don't ride as hard I want because I have asthma. Can anybody help me out maybe by telling me breathing exercises to expand my lung capacity? My asthma is not exercise enduced. It would be greatly apperciated.

sycomonkeys said:
I am an rookie cyclist. I don't ride as hard I want because I have asthma. Can anybody help me out maybe by telling me breathing exercises to expand my lung capacity? My asthma is not exercise enduced. It would be greatly apperciated.
Hi, Have you thought about Yoga? Lots of breathing exercises and also breathing combined with exercise (helps to control getting 'puffed' when you exert yourself). Not asthmatic - but I found it really helped. The stretches are good to counteract bike stiffness too ... Look around for a good class that suits you, or even a vid/book if all you want is the breathing exercises (Pranayama I think they call it!) - Ashtanga style might be a bit harsh but Hatha yoga is a good place to start...

If you have asthma you should know pursed lip breathing and diaphragmatic breathing already. What are your triggers if not exercise? Yoga is great and so are deep breathing exercises. take a deep breath into your stomach, hold it and exhale thru pursed lips. Your problem is airway restriction on exhalation. The best thing is to stop the restriction with regular constant use of non systemic corticosteroids, Flovent, and a bronchodilator when you start to get tight. If you can't exercise you will never get the stamina you are looking for with bigger lungs. Management is the main thing, consistant management. Best of luck.

My asthma acts up when I get sick.. I never had a problem before, but I was getting sick, school, and the rains of Miami. But now that started back with riding, I started having the problems.