Breathing Patterns

Felt_Rider

Oct 24, 2004
I noticed one thing as a newbie trying to improve that my breathing is erratic because I have not yet learned what patterns (if any) are necessary depending on sprinting or climbing. From a weight training background I know how to control my breathing for efficiency and gained strength, but on the bike I seem to be clueless.

It almost feels abnormal to to be breathing irregular to the pedal stroke, but it also seems unreasonable to be breathing as rapid as a spinning stroke.

Is there any synchronicity to breathing to pedaling or different excertion levels?

I kind of looked around on the web for information, but I thought I would pose the question here about breathing patterns or links to articles.

I think you may have found all the info thats out there but I am not a doctor and dont have a lot of resources so I can just speak from personal experiance, most of the time when I am riding hard I try to exhale as much air that I can with each breath and don't worry about the inhale. I have never really paid attention to a breathing pattern in relation to my pedal stroke because I could be going easy and doing 100+ rpms or going real hard and doing 40-50 rpms. I think breathing should just be trying to get as much air in and out of your body as needed to keep your body out of oxygen debt.

I think that some things that work well for weight lifting and body building might not work well for bicycling.

Do a search on entrainment - I believe this is the common term for breathing in rhythm with exercise rhythm..

http://www.ms-se.com/pt/re/msse/abstract.00005768-199802000-00011.htm;jsessionid=Cn92BMcC3EfbW7K1Jn55dLT2exGn2PSfW64J6M1243uIcNCu2R86!-1778183981!-949856031!9001!-1

From what I remember, there is enough oxygen in a normal persons intake of air to sustain much more than the maximum work output possible by that person - this is not the limiter in a healthy person for aerobic exercise.

Thanks for the feedback.