Bringing a Specialized Allez Steel Back to Life

67Rally

Jan 1, 2011
First off, I am a newb to this forum and this is my initial post.

I used to ride regularly in the late 80's and early 90's until my back injury worsened and I blew out my shoulder. Without going into great detail, I derailed my health and put on A LOT of weight over the span of 15 years. I started an aggressive treatment plan for my back and made huge strides to getting my pain managed and, in some cases mitigated. I had purchased a MTB about 6 years ago that I have ridden off and on during that time. In April of '10, I started to ride regularly to the point of losing the bulk of the weight (I went from 363 to 242 - as of yesterday). I am working my way down to where I should be (sub-190) and I am setting my sights on my road bike and returning it to the road.

I don't have a lot of money, and my Allez is in fantastic shape. At my peak of riding (back in the old days), I was putting about 3,000 miles per year. I have done that much this year (in only 7 months). The bike fits me and was always a pleasure to ride. The feel of the steel on the road was fantastic and it took a lot of abuse. Now, after 16 years hanging in my garage, I am bringing her back to life rather than fork over the coin for uncharted waters with a new ride.

I am updating all of the components. I want to update to bar-end indexed shifting, moving from the down tube shifter and I am wondering what I should put in place there to use for cable stops. What have others done?

Congrats on finding your way back to the road.

Doing an overall update might be personally fulfilling on a bike that fits you and obviously have great sentimental value - but it's rarely cost effective.
From a money perspective you're usually way better off buying a new (but used) bike instead.