broadband internet while riding?

Discussion in 'Australia and New Zealand' started by Midex, Jun 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Midex

Midex Guest

Does anyone know of a means to achieve mobile broadband access to the net. I can get sufficient
    power storage from a dynamo system no problem but I guess I'll need some sought of satellite
    connection. Whats the coverage like out there in the woods? I want access to internet while riding
    round australia. I'm studying a masters degree online and need to get net savvy to get a job
    eventually. Also, I can download information as I go about my surroundinsg. I know of one website
    that takes a postcode and retrieves all the native flora/fauna to that code, even bushtucker
    information particular to the area. As one might imagine, such mobile facility has awesome
    potential, finding out where the fish are, what bait to use, all of this at your fingertips.

Tags:

2. Tezza

Tezza New Member

It's a peice of cake. Down here in Australia we are very Web savvy. In the cities of course you can use normal or mobile phones to access this new Internet thingy that you are talking about.
    Out in the bush, it's a bit more difficult but still possible. Our National Parks people have wired a special mob of kangaroos. All you have to do is flag one down and gently put your hand into its pouch to find the little connector that you can plug your phone into. All very high tech but capitalising on the Kangaroos' natural inquisitive nature. Just a word of warning though - make sure that you warm your hands first before you delve into a kangaroo's pouch.

;)

3. Kingsley

Kingsley Guest

On Tue, 03 Jun 2003 22:16:26 -0700, Midex wrote:

> Does anyone know of a means to achieve mobile broadband access to the net. I can get sufficient
    > power storage from a dynamo system no problem but I guess I'll need some sought of satellite