budget up to $1500AUD, which mountain bike should I buy?

ahmondjai

Feb 3, 2007
Hi, everyone, I'm just a newbie into mountain bikes, and I'm looking to buy one now, set my budget up to $1500AUD, been looking at Avanti: Ridge Rider, Montari, Barracuda and for Giant: Alias, Talon. Any other good bikes(perhaps from other brands) are there for me to consider? Million thanks

Go to www.cellbikes.com.au and take a look there. I'm looking at one of theirs for a roadbike and I can't get better value for money anywhere. You'd need to be able to visit their store in Sydney or otherwise be comfortable buying over the web.

j.r.hawkins said:
Go to www.cellbikes.com.au and take a look there. I'm looking at one of theirs for a roadbike and I can't get better value for money anywhere. You'd need to be able to visit their store in Sydney or otherwise be comfortable buying over the web.
thanks for replying j.r.hawkins, I've looked at cellbikes.com, what are your opinions for them?? are they any good? compare to others like giant or avanti? coz I've heard cell aren't really a good choice other than price, correct me if I'm in the wrong direction since I have no knowledge about any of them.:p

What kind of MTB are you after? There's quite a few styles. Do you want full suspension (might just get a budget model at your price point), dirtjump/freeride,cross country hardtail etc. Are you likely to go off-road a bit or is it more for riding around the streets.
Go into bike stores and try a few models. Research it and write down the ones you're intersted in. Buy some magazines (the 2007 Bicycle Buyers Guide is out in the newsagents at the moment; plenty of models listed with recommended retails prices shown. Gives you a good idea of cost and some of the parts at the price point).