Building a bike - how hard?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Paul, Jul 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul

Paul Guest

Well, now the big question for me. How difficult is it to build up a bike?

I'm fairly new to cycling and have been seriously bitten by the bug. My mechanical skills are fairly
    limited but I am toying with the idea of buying a frame and building up a bike. I enjoy putting
    computers together too but there seems to be something of a differance between a computer failing to
    boot because a card isn't seated properly and your bicycle wheels falling off in heavy traffic!

I suppose one advantage is that I know my limitations and fitting the headset and bottom bracket
    would be beyond me (not having the tools doesn't help) and perhaps fitting the forks also but I have
    a great LBS who could do this - they'd build the whole thing of course but it seems a good way to
    learn some skills.

I have a reasonable set of tools and a torque wrench and so could probably fit the componetry,
    chainset, bars, gears etc. and am bright enough (I hope) to buy compatible kit.

Does this seem a reasonable proposition or is the whole endevour best left to the professionals?

Kind Regards, Paul.

Tags:

2. Scott C

Scott C Guest

Although I have no answers for you on this, I too have thought hard about this, as I would enjoy the
    process.. but here's what this group told me.. it's far more expensive doing this, than buying a
    bike. Dealers will sell parts at some 50% markup, making the cost of your bike very expensive.. vs
    when they build a bike and take a less markup due to competition. I'll be curious what we learn from
    your post. I just bought a bike (TREK 300) and have taken it apart lubing all over again so I know
    it's OK. I did not disassemble the spokes.. or anything to this detail, but did pull apart all
    breaks, bearings, and tweak all.

sc