Building a bike

Peter Verdesi

Aug 26, 2004
I've decided to build my first bike. I've been riding my whole life(with the exception of the first few years) as a substitute for running (which I've always been better at) but just recently got into doing triathlons last year. So I want to build a tri bike for the up-coming season. I'm building the bike up from parts I'm buying on ebay and, so far, I think I'm doing pretty well in terms of keeping the cost down. When all is said and done I'll have a full Dura Ace 10 speed bike for about $1,700.00 with new components(that includes Zipp 909's that are used). Now to the heart of the matter; I'm no rocket scientist when it comes to bike building but I'm not really afraid to wrench. My question is this, is it really that hard to build a bike? Can anyone recommend a book on the subject? And lastly, how much do you figure it should cost to have a shop build it up for me?

For those who are curious:
Frame: Cannondale Multisport Caad 5 $202.00
Crank with bottom bracket: Dura Ace 7800 $299.00
Brakes, front and rear: Dura Ace 7800 $159.99
Front and rear derailer: Dura Ace 7800 $140.00
Pedals: Dura Ace 7800 :$129.99
Shifter: Dura Ace bar end 10 speed: $59.99
Wheels: Zipp 909(used): $510.00
Aero Bars: Profile Carbon X: $200.00? (haven't gotten them yet)

I know there are things that I'm missing: cassette, seatpost and seat, brake levers, cables etc etc but you get the idea (I already have some of the things I'll need). Thanks in advance for any advise or opinions. Be Safe out there.

It's really not too hard to build up a bike if you take your time with it. There are a few things you might need to take it to a shop for, like reaming and facing the head tube and chasing the bb threads. But that depends on the frame. Everything else can be installed with basic tools and a bit of patience. Good luck!

Peter Verdesi said: