Building a road bike, need advice. Please!!

campbellj

Feb 7, 2010
Hello everyone! I'm Jonathan, from S. Florida, new to the forum. I recently found a great deal on a Litespeed Saber frame in my size, 49cm so I bought it. I am new to road bikes, I have always been on Mtn. bikes. I don't really want to cut corners anywhere on the bike, so I plan to put all new 2010 ultegra components on it, with carbon bars, stem, seat post ect...

The biggest issue I am having is choosing wheels. I have to get 650c size, so it seems my choices are limited. I have seen sets of Zipp 404 sell on ebay all tubular in the 5-600 range, which seems to be about my range. I just don't know if I should go with tubular wheels for a "all around" wheel set. I like the look of low spoke count wheels, or carbon wheels like the zipps. I have also thought about just getting a set of bontrager select aero wheels for now, so I can get rolling and upgrade later, but then again I would rather just spend the money now and not have to later. I guess I am kind of being a weight weenie, but oh well, I'm new and excited, and would like a lightweight bike. Any wheel suggestions? Is lightweight wheels really going to make a difference to me right now being a beginner? Any thing I should stay away from? Tubular/Clincher? What should I do??

Lightweight wheels aren't going to make any difference that you'll notice. Also, being new to the road bike scene, I'd get clincher wheels. Getting more road miles under you butt and more experience hearing about and learning about the array of equipment available in the road bike world will give the time and tools to later decide for yourself whether you want to make the switch to tubulars.