Bullet proof Tires

grifter

Nov 23, 2003
I am new to the road riding and would like to know what is the best advice on getting a pair of bulletproof wheels. I am a heavy rider 275lbs. And a bike shop referred me to a pair of Mavic Ksyriums, they run $ $700. As they were best able to handle my weight. I live in Southern California, does anyone know a master wheel builder that is near this location? Or does anyone know of a wheel set that could handle my weight without costing more than my bike? I have a steel frame Moser that is equipped with Dur-ace
My target price is between $400- 500 for a complete wheel set!

Thanks in advance ........ !

Originally posted by grifter
I am new to the road riding and would like to know what is the best advice on getting a pair of bulletproof wheels. I am a heavy rider 275lbs. And a bike shop referred me to a pair of Mavic Ksyriums, they run $ $700. As they were best able to handle my weight. I live in Southern California, does anyone know a master wheel builder that is near this location? Or does anyone know of a wheel set that could handle my weight without costing more than my bike? I have a steel frame Moser that is equipped with Dur-ace

Hmmm...interesting. Well, it comes down to a couple of things in my opinion. Are you looking for something chi-chi looking like the Ksyriums? Or, do you want total functionality and dependability?

I race as a Cat 1 and have to tell you, I've never lost a race because of the wheels I was using (trust me, I can lose a race all by myself). But, MAN is it annoying when a spoke gets broken on my super-fancy, factory built wheelset while in transport to a race. It happens - and it's next to impossible to fix on the fly. I say this, cause fixing a broken spoke on a Ksyrium is not an easy ordeal...well, that's what I think, anyway.