Bunch of questions!

DVNDSN

Jun 4, 2011
I am a new cyclist in regards to my level of competition, but I have been riding for 4 years now. I bought a walmart road bike (33 lbs) for $150 and started riding on it. This past Wednesday, I bought a 2010 Trek 1.5. I did my research, and went in knowing what I wanted, and came out with it. I am extremely pleased. I put clip-ins on it, SPD-SL's with R087 shoes. I really like the Tiagra setup, but am wanting to change a few things on the bike itself in regards to the brakes, cassette, and crank.

On to the questions: In regards to sprinting with clip-ins, do you stand up and pull up on the pedals while pushing down with the other foot, or what? How exactly do you get up to sprinting speed the fastest? Where should my hands be as well? Towards the middle of the handlebars, out on the rubber grips with the brakes, or on the drops (surely not those but it's worth asking).

I am a little confused on my stance as well. While cruising at say, 15 mph, where should my hands be? I want to keep them on the rubber grips with the brakes, but then somehow I just move them up to the tops of the handlebars next to the stem.

As far as climbing hills go, I try to remain on the seat in a low-ish gear, and keep calm. Is that the best way to handle climbing?

I know this isn't the training forum, but most of my quesitions are about the bike itself, this one is in regards to training... What is the best way to increase my average speed? Doing suicides on the bike, changing my diet, or what? The single, most best way to help me out?

Do aerobars really help when you are doing rolling hills some, and a couple downhills on a 20 mile ride?