Bunch riding etiquette

ToddS

Apr 20, 2006
I have recently moved to Melbourne from sydney. And apart from adapting to to the genorous lane widths and onroad cycle paths (such things hardly exist in Syndey) I'm also having to adapt to teh increased number of cyclists...bunchs in particular.

I've been doing my training rides of a morning along beach road - like everyone else. Recently I was overtaken by a bunch of about 8 riders...given the crosswind I was dealing with I thought I'd set pace with the bunch and sit behind them. Being a complete newbie to bunches I'm not sure I didn't **** some people off.

A few times the rear outside rider would move forward a poisiton and then the inside rear rider would glance back at me....Was I supposed to do something? was the correct thing to do to move into the outside position just made vacant? was it rude to sit at the rear of the bunch without doing my part somewhere?

Now I realise maybe I should have asked these questions to the bunch but that might have put someone off also. I figured it's a good question for a forum like this anyway...there's probably other people unsure of bunch etiquette who would be interested in this thread.

ToddS said:
I have recently moved to Melbourne from sydney. And apart from adapting to to the genorous lane widths and onroad cycle paths (such things hardly exist in Syndey) I'm also having to adapt to teh increased number of cyclists...bunchs in particular.

I've been doing my training rides of a morning along beach road - like everyone else. Recently I was overtaken by a bunch of about 8 riders...given the crosswind I was dealing with I thought I'd set pace with the bunch and sit behind them. Being a complete newbie to bunches I'm not sure I didn't **** some people off.