Burning thighs

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by Shelli, Jun 1, 2005.

1. Shelli

Shelli New Member

I'm new to riding and do about 2x30 mi. during week and 35 mi. on w/e. My diet is clean with good amount of pro and carb. My thighs started burning so bad at 40 mi. this w/e, I had to get off and walk 2mi. Should I train through this? Can I do a scheduled ride of 45 mi. this w/e? Should I gear down? I'm trying to train for the HotterN' Hell in Tx.( in Aug, 100 miles)

Tags:

2. sooray02

sooray02 New Member

Did you eat and drink while you rode?

Make sure you stretch and massage your legs before and after riding. Maybe taking a day off before your long ride could help. Have a goal or purpose for each day of training.

Don't be traing through bad pain... it's only gonna make it worse. Listen to your body. Smart riders know when to back off.

Good luck!

Soo-re

3. wiredued

wiredued New Member

I had the same problem but when I raised the saddle it went away and I haven't had any trouble since then.

4. eortiz

eortiz New Member

I second your opinion. You might want to check oyur saddle height but be careful not to change it too much at once. Do a couple of cm. and see how it feels.

On a second note, stretching will ease the burning during a ride. You can do this by unclipping your foot on one pedal and pull your heel up to your buttocks. This will stretch your quads.

Good luck on the Ride to Hell

5. EvilGoodGuy

EvilGoodGuy New Member

During my first few times cycling 80km or so, I seriously underestimated the impact of proper fueling during a ride. I didn't carry nearly enough water and didn't eat enough. As soon as I started sipping every 15mins and eating every hour I could sustain my pace and feel overall much better. I went from averaging 17mph to 20mph without any difference in effort.

6. dhk

dhk New Member