Buy a new Carbon Bike Specialized Roubaix vs Fuji

aperezy

May 24, 2012
Hello everyone...I am new to the forum

I have been biking for two three years now and I want to upgrade my Aluminum frame Specialized Allez Compact to a full carbon (Avg. 2500$)
I already decided to purchase a Specialized Rival until other store offered me a great deal on a Fuji Altamira. The deal with the Fuji is about 400 $ less and they are giving me a 200$ card to buy accessories in the store.
Going online to get info for a recreational biker as me is overwhelming, so recommendations/advices are welcome. Following the links of the two biikes

http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bikes/road/roubaix/roubaixeliterivalcompact

http://www.fujibikes.com/bike/details/altamira-302

Cheers
Alfredo Perez
Lansdale

Welcome. Those two bikes have very different length headtubes (145mm vs. 165mm for a 54cm). Just a quick glance at the respective photos will confirm. All things being equal the Roubaix will have you more upright - position of course can be ajdusted by flipping the stem and/or adding and removing headset spacers. The Roubaix might considered more of an "endurance" bike, where as the Altimira features geometry closer to a "race" bike. But if you are in good shape and relatively flexible, both bikes could easily be ridden hundreds of miles.

Personally I prefer the aesthetics, geometry and components of the Fuji but you should test ride these two as they will feel different. The Fuji probably has geometry closer to your Allez.

Thanks so much good information and I am really looking more for an Endurance bike but financial deal on fuji is pretty good. Now I checked on the fuji site and I did not ses my size 54, but instead 55...is that because the headtube size? thanks so much for your kindness