Buying 2008 Felt S32 for great deal. but wondering about parts.

MichaelBrown

Dec 2, 2009
Hello everyone! I am completely new to the higher end bicycle scene. The only bicycles i have ever own were road/mountain bikes from walmart that cost well under 200 dollars! i know, i'm a bit deprived, lol!

Well, i am here to ask your opionion on something. I am in the market for a reasonably price bicycle. Something that has a great bang for buck value. I believe i have found it in the form of a 2008 Felt S32. My local bike shop has one sitting right next to its 2009 counter-part. Because of this, they have drastically cut the price from 1,500 dollars to 875.

I believe this is perfect. its basically an entry level triathlon bike, so i think it'd make a sort of 'better than average' road bike. I've checked the specs on it and i'm kind of worried. I really like shimano parts, but on this bike they have such a huge difference in series. Dura-Ace shifter, Ultegra rear Derailleur, 105 front Derailleur, R-500 wheels and different company's make up the other parts of the bike.

Why couldn't they make it a Ultegra, or Dura-Ace shifter, derailleur's, wheels, crank sets, etc? Wouldn't that make more sense?

Well, i've been wondering this for hours now after doing a **** ton of research. The price of the bike itself is absolutely beautiful and i'm NOT going to pass it up.

But would it be worth upgrading almost every single part on the bike to Ultegra? The reason i choose Ultegra is because Dura-Ace seems like its strictly for race purpose only, where as Ultegra seems more road friendly.

Am i wrong? Should i reconsider what line of shimano parts i should get? What do you suggest to this bike rookie?

thank you so much for your time!