Buying my first Bike

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by Shadowhawk100, Dec 19, 2009.

1. Shadowhawk100

Shadowhawk100 New Member

Hi guys,

I used to be long distance cross country runner and would like to enter the biking field. The choices for buying my first bike are extraordinary and I would naturally like to get the best bang for my buck. I would like to spend about $600 and have found two bikes that are physically appealing to me:

1) Road Bikes - DawesLightning1200 (in Grey-- of course)
    2) Road Bikes, Roadbikes - 2009 Mercier Orion AL

I have read the mixed reviews from bikesdirect.com but they seem like they'll deliver, in whatever condition. I will probably be using this bike to ride 15 miles to school, just go for cruises on the road, and even possibly race after becoming familiar with the field. Could anybody instruct me on what I should be looking for in a bike? What to avoid entirely? A better place to shop? (Prices do matter)...

I don't know I'm just an amateur :rolleyes:... I like the Dawes appearance more, but the mercier was placed in the higher quality category. What should I get... Any suggestions...Advice?

Tags:

2. coneofsilence

coneofsilence Member

At that price range its not so much about the bike but more the fit. It would be wise to go to a store and get the right size bike so that you are comfortable on any rides you do. With the correct size bike you will feel so much better and actually enjoy the ride rather then feeling sore during and after rides. You could pay $5000 for a bike and if it doesnt fit, you wont enjoy it.

3. Shadowhawk100

Shadowhawk100 New Member