Buying my first road bike. Down to 2 bikes. Please advice.

kludge

Feb 16, 2011
Hi there :)

I am a newbie to the bicycling world. I have been digging around the forum to get an idea on how to choose a bike.

I have a limited budget and I made the selection down to two bikes: Cannondale CAAD8 7 Sora and Felt F85. (2011 both.)

I read very good reviews about the Cannondale frames, yet the reviews about Shimano Sora are not so bright when compared to 105. F85 should be a very good frame as well (for a beginner), yet people find Cannondale frame stiffer and more aggressive.

CAAD8 7 Sora Components:
Casette: SRAM PG-950, 12-26
Front Derailleur: Shimano Sora, 34.9 clamp
Rear Derailleur: Shimano Sora
Shifters: Shimano Sora

Felt F85 Components:
Casette: Shimano 105 Cassette, 11-25T
Front Derailleur: Shimano 105 34.9mm clamp-on, double
Rear Derailleur: Shimano 105 SS Short Cage
Shifters: Micro.Shift Integrated Shifter/Brake Lever 20 speed

As a beginner I may not feel the difference between these two bikes at all, yet I think I will not upgrade any of these important parts for a long time. That is why I want to pick the right one once and start riding it.

Your opinions/experiences will be very helpful.

Have you ridden both bikes to see how they each feel to you?

I would go with the bike that feels the best to you. If you like the way the CAAD8 rides the best, then don't let the Sora equipment scare you off. If it's properly adjusted it should work just as well as the 105....it probably won't last 20 years like the 105 /img/vbsmilies/smilies/wink.gif, but it should give you several years of good service. Then in a few years you can check out upgrading your equipment group or you may want to trade that bike in for something else. Lots of options there....

You may decide you like the Felt bike the best and if so....then it already has 105 which should last a very long time....