Buying my first road bike - putting road tyres on a CX bike?

GlobeRunner

Apr 17, 2013
I'm new to cycling (although not new to sports - running my first marathon this weekend) and am really excited at the prospect of getting out on the road.
I've been looking around for an Entry level road bike for about a month now, and one of the guys working at my LBS was extremely helpful and recommend the Scott Contessa Speedster series. After a bit of investigation, I had sort of decided on the Contessa 45 http://www.evanscycles.com/products/scott/contessa-speedster-45-2013-womens-road-bike-ec042477
It was at the top end of my budget (£700) and for an entry bike, it seemed good value.
So, I went back to my LBS today with an ol' banger of a bike to trade in (hopefully it will find a good home!) and with the Contessa at the forefront of my mind.
I spoke to a different sales assistant who was unbelievably helpful and walked me through some of the bikes that suited what I was looking for - ideally something nippy, something I can build up my mileage with and something that will also allow me to race since I'm going off to university in September and my Uni has a *fantastic* road racing club.
The guy I spoke to ran me through all the entry road bikes in the shop (including a couple of Scotts and a kooky looking Genesis), but then he came up with a wacky idea.
A few weeks ago they had a customer who asked if they could bring in the new Moda Legato cyclocross and tweak it for her a bit. It's a 48/49 cm frame and basically, the sale fell through and she bailed on them, leaving them with this small framed bike and no owner. The guy suggested throwing some road tyres on it, a new chainset that would suit the road (I think he mentioned the Shimano Ultegra) and selling it to me for £700 (!!) because they just can't shift it (it retails for £1500, which is definitely in a completely different price bracket to my budget).