Buying used Allez

hardpenor

May 22, 2005
I'm new to the riding scene. I've been running for years and I swam in high school and just recently started doing sprint triathlons. My swim times are good and running like 730/8 minute miles. However my problem is that I've been using this old heavy mountain bike for the 16 mile ride and its killing my times. I've just been starting to look recently on craiglist hoping to find a deal on a bike from someone who is selling their bike now in prep for buying a new one next year. Well I found this one http://cleveland.craigslist.org/bik/4159100663.html. Its a specialized allez from 2011. He's asking 500 and it comes with an indoor training. Btw I live in cleveland and winter is approaching so the indoor trainer could be very useful. So been a very newbie in the riding and not looking to spend a ton of money, I'm looking for a decent road bike to help my biking times. Any thoughts on it? Good deal? I couldn't find how much it sold for originally, but my guess is like 700-800?

Seems like fair deal if the bike is indeed in good mechanical order. An indoor trainer makes it a good deal. He does say it's a small size. Specialized shows their "52" has a top tube length of 53.7cm, but then then the seat tube measurement he provides doesn't match: http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bikes/road/allez/allez-sport#geometry

If it is a 52, that size is ballpark for someone 5'4" -5'7". If that's your ballpark, best thing is to test ride it. If you have the legs, the bike itself is capable of winning an entry level race.