Cable Compatability for campy!

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by simmoclayto, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. simmoclayto

    simmoclayto New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    I have durace brake and shifter cables. I am looking at purchasing either a campy chorus or volace shifters. Will these cabes be compatable? or do i need to purchase new campy cables

    cheers

    Simon
     
    Tags:


  2. Eastway82

    Eastway82 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you buy new Campag shifters, they come with the cables anyway. If you buy used, then I think you'll need new cables - don't the Shimano ones have the barrel adjuster on the shift cable just upstream of the shifter? Won't work with Campag as the cable needs to go under the tape.

    A word of warning: If you're buying 2007 shifters, then go for Chorus rather than Veloce.
    Up to and including 2006, all the groups except Xenon used exactly the same shifter internals, with the exception of Chorus/Record, which had two ball bearing races instead of plain bushes. With the '07 kit, Chorus/Record are exactly the same as last year except for one tiny cogwheel in the left shifter, designed to work with the new QS front derailleur (you can retrofit the cogwheel to any 00-06 Record/Chorus shifter). BUT Mirage/Veloce/Centaur now have the much cheaper internal workings from the 00-06 Xenon shifters. If I were you, I'd be looking for deals on '06 old stock, not being tempted to pay a premium for '07, especially for those lower groups.
     
  3. hd reynolds

    hd reynolds New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Length-wise they are not. Also instead of campy cables, get generic ones (avid or jagwire) that you can buy by the meter and then cut them to length. They're cheaper and works just as well.
     
Loading...
Loading...