Cadence and combining Cycling and Running

AllanST

Nov 10, 2005
I'm fairly new to cycling, only got back on a bike 6 months ago after a 15 year gap. So at the moment I'm still learning a lot.

I'm also a fell runner, and also do a bit of road running, and am trying to combine both my disciplines together, having a mixed degree of sucess (there are advantages and disadvantages to doing both).

I got myself into a habit of pushing big gears a while back, which worked wonders for my fell running uphills, but messed up my flat running, and lead to a few injuries, and a loss of overall speed.

I was then advised by another runner, that I should use high cadence cycling, so I backed off for a while, and did just that. now I can turn 120-140 RPM in the easier gears and feel comfortable doing it for a long period of time (and it definitely helps my running). However I also want to push my cycling a bit more, and do the best in both disciplines I can.

To what extent can I use my high cadence to my advantage when cycling(thinking of Lance Armstrongs example in the tour), and how can I ensure that I can push bigger gears (which since backing off I've found harder to do), and maintain the hither cadences I have (I know that if I spin high cadences, and build up momentum, I can still keep going at the same cadence in a bigger gear, however this all goes to pot when I hit a hill, and have to change down a gear).

Obviously I want to strengthen my legs, and keep my leg speed at the same time, so how can I go about doing this?

Anyone got any experience of combing the two disciplines?

I'm curious, as a cadence of 120 - 140 RPM is described as excessive by some people? I know the recommended cadence is 90 - 100 RPM, but why would having extremely high cadences be a problem if you can sustain them? Are there any problems with having a very high cadence?