Caledonia etape with 8 speed cassette?! upgrade?

pr1mate

Apr 27, 2010
I'm a cycling newb, although I have been puttin in the miles for the etape.I have a basic Trek 1000. I'm getting concerned that my 8 speed cassette isnt enough to climb the 2 mile uphill section of Schiehallion.

Don't get me wrong I would be able to climb it I just want to be able to put in a good/better time!

What should I upgrade to enable an easier climb?

Thanks

Complete Trek 1000 Specifications

Frameset
Sizes: 43, 50, 52, 54, 56, 58, 60, 63cm
Frame: Alpha SL Aluminum
Fork: Bontrager Approved, carbon
Wheels
Wheels: Alloy hubs; Alex alloy rims w/eyelets
Tires: Bontrager Select, 700x25c
Drivetrain
Shifters: Shimano Sora STI, 8 speed
Front Derailleur: Shimano 2203
Rear Derailleur: Shimano Tiagra
Crank: Bontrager Sport 52/42/30
Cassette: SRAM 850 12-26, 8 speed
Pedals: Alloy/nylon road w/clips and straps
Components
Saddle: Bontrager Race Basic Lux
Seat Post: Bontrager Carbon Handlebars Bontrager Sport, 26.0mm
Stem: Bontrager Select, 17 degree
Headset: Aheadset Slimstak w/semi-cartridge bearings, sealed
Brakeset: Alloy dual pivot w/Shimano Sora STI levers

Your body. I have a Trek 1000 and it climbs fine. You just have to have the right level of fitness to climb the climb. It looks like your bike has a triple crankset, and a 30 chainring with a 26-tooth cog will give you a much smaller gear ratio than most of the people with doubles, even those with compact cranksets. So your bike might even climb better than others'

A 2 mile climb isn't very long and it's not really worth the expense of upgrading anything on your bike just for that...