Calibrating computer?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Sando, Jul 9, 2006.

  1. Sando

    Sando New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone

    Can anyone tell me how to calibrate my bike computer??

    I have a Cateye VELO 8 (CC-VL800) and i want to know that my distance / KPH / average speed that it reads is correct...

    PLEASE HELP!!!!
     
    Tags:


  2. 2 old 2 go slow

    2 old 2 go slow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    To get distance and speed your computer needs to know two things:
    1. The time it takes the wheel to go around one turn, and
    2. How far you travel with each turn of the wheel.
    The time part is easy. The computer simply measures the time it takes the magnetic pickup to go around.

    You have to tell the computer how far your bike travels per wheel revolution. Here's the best method I know:
    1. Make a mark on the pavement where you will start.
    2. Put your wheel on that mark so that the valve stem is at the bottom.
    3. With you on the bike, roll forward in a straight line exactly one wheel revolution.
    4. Mark this point on the pavement.
    5. Measure the distance between marks.
    6. Input this distance into your computer.
     
  3. 531Aussie

    531Aussie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,606
    Likes Received:
    137
    best is to do an 'on the bike' rollout at a measured velodrome, or some other track.
     
  4. smithsr

    smithsr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agree - some tracks will have a marked out 1,2,3,4 5 ... Km marks on the pavement that you can test. You will get some minor variation depending on how you ride the corners etc. I have found that I need to vary the computer settings a liitle from the roillout method by trial and error, so things like rider weight tyre pressure may influence the true reading.
     
  5. dgregory57

    dgregory57 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you need accuracy more than the 99.5% + accuracy you will get by just plugging in the number from your manual, then the previous posters have some good ideas.

    But, in my reading of your message, it sounds like the extreme accuracy isn't an issue, it is that you don't know how to set it...

    If you don't have your manual, you can find the number you need here:

    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/cyclecomputer-calibration.html

    For specific directions, I don't see yours listed, but you can try the methods used for some other Cateye models to see if one of them works. Those are here:

    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/cyclecom_calibration_proc.html

    Good luck!
     
Loading...
Loading...