Campy Centaur question

Perfect Circles

Jun 6, 2005
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to cycling and recently purchased a Giant TCR road bike with Campagnolo Centaur groupset to replace an older downtube - shifter I'd been riding. The whole ergoshift/STI thing is a novelty to me, so I have some questions to ask . . . .

To date, I've done around 300km on the new bike and will take it back to the LBS shortly for its after sales tune up. I'm finding that the gear shift action is a little "indistinct" compared to the SIS indexed system on the old bike. Often, it takes some fidling with the shift levers to get the gear I want. I have to try and trim the shift levers to get the drivetrain to run smoothly. Is this normal for a new bike? Does the drive train "wear in" after a while??

Secondly, the rear cluster is often quite noisy; sounds similar to a chain rubbing on the inside of the front derailleur cage, except that I've isolated the problem to the rear mech. The noise appears to be coming from the jockey pulley cage . . . .

I've also cleaned and re-lubed the drivetrain once.

Are these problems normal? Are there any simple adjustments I can make to try and troubleshoot the problem? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Perfect Circles.

Perfect Circles said:
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to cycling and recently purchased a Giant TCR road bike with Campagnolo Centaur groupset to replace an older downtube - shifter I'd been riding. The whole ergoshift/STI thing is a novelty to me, so I have some questions to ask . . . .