Campy QS shifters

JonnyG

Aug 18, 2010
Hi All! This is my first post... so go easy on me:)

I'm planning the build of a new road bike and at this moment, I'm leaning toward Campy 10 speed for the drive train. I've noticed there is still pretty good availability of (older) Record and Chorus 10 speed at many retailers, and the prices seem reasonable. I'm completely new to Campy however, so this is the reason for my post. I'm sure this question has been asked many times before, but the search engine won't allow me to search on two characters. The two characters I'm concerned with are "QS". From what I've read so far, QS means quick shift. This was an attempt to improve the shifting and shorten the travel of the front shifter, starting in 2007 I believe. It's seems a bit unclear to me whether this change was actually seen as an improvement. So the questions... (specifically for Chorus and Record shifters).
Do both the QS and pre-QS shifters have the same ratchet mechanism, or is one of them more of an indexed system (which I don't want)?
Do they have the same basic feel to them (except for the amount of travel)?
Is one more durable or servicable?
Are the QS shifters the better shifters to get, or should I go back to the 2006 models? Explain why.
TIA.
Jon