Can any bike be properly fit?

Tanach

Jan 2, 2003
I am a newbie wanting to take up cycling to augment my running. Knowing nothing about cycling, I have done a lot of research before making my first bike purchase. Unfortunately, I still do not understand sizing very well. My question is this: <br /><br />Can most bikes be fit correctly (by a professional of course) given the right frame size for the rider, or are geometries so different that only a few bikes will be right for a given rider?<br /><br />My question is motivated by money. I have very little to spend on an entry level bike but I know that fit is critical to having a good ride. I am wondering if I can purchase a Giant OCR 3 / Trek 1000 style beginner and still get a good fit. If not, then I will have to wait until I can spend more money, and I HATE to wait.<br /><br />Sorry for the lengthy post, but I have found the quality of the answer tends to depend on the quanity of the details given.

It's possible if you get the proper frame size (even 1cm or even 2 to big/small) to adapt it with saddle and steer pen unless when you body geometry is far from normal but this is unlikely