Cannibalizing Components from New Bike

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

John Hood

Does anyone have any experience or advice concerning buying a new bike just to get its parts for
another frame? It seems like this could be cheaper alternative to buying build kits and forks
seperately. What are the potential pitfalls with this approach? What about swapping out hydraulic
brakes (Hayes). I have no experience with setting these up and don't know how easy it is to switch
them over to another frame. Thanks.

"John Hood" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> Does anyone have any experience or advice concerning buying a new bike just to get its parts for
> another frame? It seems like this could be cheaper alternative to buying build kits and forks
> seperately. What are the potential pitfalls with this approach? What about swapping out hydraulic
> brakes (Hayes). I have no experience with setting these up and don't know how easy it is to switch
> them over to another frame.

I know a guy who buys complete bikes just for the components because its cheaper that way. He takes
off what he needs from the bike and sells the rest.

Setting up disc brakes is quite simple if you are a little mechanically inclined, just follow the
instructions.

- CA-G

Canadian Girls Kick Ass!

"John Hood" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> Does anyone have any experience or advice concerning buying a new bike just to get its parts for
> another frame? It seems like this could be cheaper alternative to buying build kits and forks
> seperately. What are the potential pitfalls with this approach? What about swapping out hydraulic
> brakes (Hayes). I have no experience with setting these up and don't know how easy it is to switch
> them over to another frame. Thanks.

I looked into the price of adding a rear disk to my bike. The price was substantial. I could buy a