Can't find pannier bag for large notebook! Please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Brian Hay

I'm new to commuting via bicycle. My work is 30-40mins away by bike but I need to transport a large
notebook (and other gear) regularly.

The notebook alone is 36cm x 4cm x 27cm (W x H x D) and the existing Targus notebook case is 46cm x
17cm x 38cm (approx). Weight is under 7-10kg.

I've looked at many online pannier manufacturers (Ortlieb, Bushwhacker, Arkel etc). The specialty
"office" or "briefcase" panniers with notebook inserts are too small for my oversized notebook and
the other standard panniers are mostly too small or not solid/padded enough for a notebook.

Ideally I'd want a jumbo pannier to stuff the entire Targus bag into or a way to securely (and
quickly) strap the Targus to the top of the rack. Regardless, I'll probably need a second standard
pannier for clothes etc.

Does anyone have any ideas or direct experience with this?

Will a modern notebook survive repeated bicycle transit if well cushioned?

I'm really enjoying riding so I don't want to go back to car or public transport if I don't have to.

Regards, Brian Hay.

Try a large Carradice saddlebag. I've been carrying notebooks to and from work each day for about
three years with no problems, though my notebooks are rather smaller and lighter.

Nick

Try to get hold of a copy of a British Magazine (i.e.) the CTX magazine). I have seen notebook
carriers advertised and reviewed in them.

Brian Hay wrote:

>I'm new to commuting via bicycle. My work is 30-40mins away by bike but I need to transport a large
>notebook (and other gear) regularly.
>
>The notebook alone is 36cm x 4cm x 27cm (W x H x D) and the existing Targus notebook case is 46cm x
>17cm x 38cm (approx). Weight is under 7-10kg.
>
>I've looked at many online pannier manufacturers (Ortlieb, Bushwhacker, Arkel etc). The specialty
>"office" or "briefcase" panniers with notebook inserts are too small for my oversized notebook and