cantilever brake chatter

Limbatus

Jul 12, 2010
Hello everybody,
I'm new to cyclingforums, as well as a new cyclist. I have been riding my bicycle to work recently, and I love the commute. It is about 5 and a half miles downhill mostly along country roads. the last part of my ride takes me down a very steep hill into the heart of town. There is consistently a lot of traffic along this road, and I ride pretty fast to keep up with the flow of cars.
I'm finding that I have some problems with my cantielever brakes. I get a ton of brake chatter when I try stopping at a couple of intersections along the way. I have learned to pulse the brakes to alleviate some of this vibration, but the loss of control makes me slightly nervous, and i'm also dissatisfied about the increased stopping distance. How do you resolve this problem; are the brakes in need of tuning, or have my wheels become eccentric? I need to be able to stop on a dime in case of emergency. My first concern with my ride to work is being safe. thanks in advance - limbatus

The forums have been a little slow since the transition, so I'll start a thread to get things moving.

Riis has officially let Fabian off his contract, so he's free to go where he likes. Where do you think he'll end up?

I reckon BMC. Apparently Team Sky and the Virgin team is interested in him, I doubt he would choose either of them over BMC.

Originally Posted by steve .

I reckon BMC. Apparently Team Sky and the Virgin team is interested in him, I doubt he would choose either of them over BMC.
Why would he wanted to go to Team Fail (aka Team Sky)? BMC - they really don't have anything big to offer. Sure there's Cadel but he'll not win a Grand Tour and isn't as strong as Fabian in the classics. I could see him either going to the latest incarnation of reynolds, banesto, caise despicable or Radio Shack. I think he's learned how valuable a good DS is and those two teams have one...