carbon frames

syrus_82

Aug 3, 2003
i am knew to cycling and i am wondering about carbon frames, i have red a bit about them and eac time i read something it contradicts what i read previously. like its responsiveness, some say not very and some say very, which one is it? does it depend on outside variables like the rider?
also the durability of carbon frames? there seems to be a debate over this, i am actually looking at a second hand giant cadex carbon bike. and am unsure about carbon frames due to all the debate.
any comments would be much appreciated
thanx

I am by no means an expert on carbon, but from what I have heard and read there are a few problem hotspots:

• oxidisation/deterioration of the carbon fibre where it interfaces with a metal seatpost (I forget the proper chemical process that happens, but it's not a good one)
  • gashes and imperfections in the weave of the material can considerably weaken the structure
  • the epoxy holding the weaves together may start unbinding, causing strength problems

A lot of the subjective criteria of a bike such as feel, comfort, responsiveness, etc. can be attributed just as much (if not more) to tyres and frame geometry as it can to the frame's construction material.

I wouldn't hesitate to buy a modern carbon frame new (so long as I liked it of course!) I don't believe that carbon is still an experimental infant in terms of frame material -- by now, many manufacturers have had a lot of experience using it with proven designs, and just try to find a mid-high end bike these days that doesn't come with a carbon fork. :)

Used, however, I would be a lot more skeptical; it's quite difficult to detect small defects in a carbon frame caused through minor accidents, etc. And if there is a problem that is clearly visible, it makes failure a question of when, not if.