Carbon top tube cracked?

pic 2.jpg

I recently had back and wrist surgery so I'm off the bike for a couple of months. In the mean time, I'm cleaning a friend's carbon frame Look bike. While waxing the frame, I felt a ripple in the paint on the top tube near the front lug. I then found these strange lines in the ripples. I advised the friend that he needed to take the bike to a LBS to have the frame inspected. Do these look like cracks in the frame? Thanks in advance for all the help.

Looks like peeled paint to me, I'm no expert though. Maybe it was scrubbed with too abrasive a surface.

I agree with Uawadall. It appears to be a paint issue to me. Maybe a base coat/clear coat lifting problem? A simple dye penetrant test would tell the tale between paint issue and cracking/delaminating of the carbon and/or resin.

Look has a 5 year warranty IIRC. Your friend would be given a new frame if it is really a crack and perhaps given a healthy discount towards a new frameset if it is a paint defect. You never know unless you ask and maybe get the factory district representative involved.

I'm really struggling to envision a material that would let a crack propagate in that pattern.
My assumption would be something else than a structural crack.

+1

It looks like peeled clearcoat...

Still probably best to check it though. ;)

Strange. Wonder if it's impact damage? Looks to me like the top tube may have been hit with something, or the bike fell over against a post. Will be curious to hear what the dealer says.

I apologize for the late response. My buddy was slow in getting his bike inspected and getting back to me. Anyway, the LBS inspected the frame and he did not find any cracks in the frame. The mechanic said it was the clear coat and paint. According to my buddy, the mechanic retouched the paint and clear coat on the top tube. I haven't seen the bike yet so I have no idea what it looks like now. Thanks again for all your replies!

Reactions: Uawadall