Carbon Wheel Question?

CoachMitch

Sep 5, 2012
I know this topic has been done to death, however, I need to address it yet again. Went to my first road race today and out of twenty guys in my class everyone was on Carbon wheels. I live in Florida so most of our terrain is flat or rolling. I will be doing my first race next month and was just wondering if this is all show or is there some go there. Most reading I have done leans toward more hype than reward. However, I find it hard to believe that EVERYONE would spend money on hype.

If I do need carbons to race on.....which ones? I am very fortunate that I can afford to buy them if I want them but don't want to spend money on something that has no value (which is probably why I have money in the first place).

Finally, I am 47 years young, ride a Giant TCR Advanced, and weigh 190 lbs. I have been riding for about 3 years but only seriously training (with a trainer) for 3 months.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Nice is always nice. And sometimes, just knowing that you have that little hardware edge over the competition will make a rider push that little bit extra that wlll make the difference between a podium finish or not. But in a blind test, don't hold your breath.

You don't need carbon wheels to go well in races. Most times the benefit comes from the placebo effect, a good aluminium wheel will be as fast and resposive as a similar priced and weight carbon wheel. Unless you're at the pointy end of the ProTour there are cheaper ways to get some gains.

I've also seen some of the cheap carbon wheels you can buy direct from china for about 4-500 dollars, they're as heavy as boat anchors.