Cassette 11-21 or 12-23?

dq75

Dec 5, 2004
I want to work on my hill climbing a lot more, typically I am a sprinter. When climbing on some of the local hills, I can't keep my cadence above 60 rpm, which has been good for strength training but I tire really quickly. I am wondering if I should change my cassette from a 11-21 to a 12-23 or 12-25. If so, will a higher cadence help me not get so tired and help me climb for longer periods at a time!

This post might fare better in the training forum. But yes, keeping your cadence in the 80-90 range (that's for me anyway) lets your body use more of your aerobic system vs anaerobic (I'm no expert there -- what I mean is you get your heartrate up vs. the lactic acid burn in your legs from trying to mash big gears). Faster cadence means bigger cog (12-25 or similar) or smaller ring (compact double or triple).

Yup. Like the other posters are saying, go for lighter gears... why try to ruin your knees with big gears? Get a 23 and seriously consider a compact crank!

artmichalek said:
Thanks for that, it makes me feel a little better about myself.... ;)

But here's another question. I was talking to a tech about compact cranks and his reply was that there are some problems with the shimano front derailer and that it doesn't function at 100% efficency with a gap in the gearing of more than 14 teeth. Anybody care to comment on this statement?

L

Lonnie Utah said:
I was talking to a tech about compact cranks and his reply was that there are some problems with the shimano front derailer and that it doesn't function at 100% efficency with a gap in the gearing of more than 14 teeth. Anybody care to comment on this statement? L
I'll take the bait... You see Shimano designed the front derailuer to accomodate up to 14 teeth on the double, and so it doesn't function at 100% efficency with a gap in the gearing of more than 14 teeth. :D