Catching the single speed fever

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by MTBScottie, Mar 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MTBScottie

MTBScottie Guest

I've been deciding now for nearly 6 months on trying a single speed. I've looked at alot of bikes,
    from the Kona Unit, to the KHS Solo One, to the Surly 1X1, and of course the Redline Monocog. I've
    read alot of what the current single speeders have to say about the certain models and how the bikes
    perform. I've looked and looked and finally decided on a Redline Monocog. It came in last Saturday,
    and had my first ride today. Where did I go? Well first, yep, you bet JD, right down the damn
    sidewalk!!!!! I was waiting for the vehicle to be inspected, and hadn't rode the bike yet, so I
    decided to take a spin around the neighborhood. Just like a few people have mentioned, the bike's
    acceleration is unbelievable, at least to me. I expected to get on and be riding a fairly hard to
    pedal bike. The gearing seems to make you feel as if you are in the middle chain ring of a multi
    gear bike. Got the vehicle back around 5 and immediately loaded the Monocog up and headed for the
    dirt. I had about 2 hours and 45 minutes left of daylight, and I rode every minute of it. Again, the
    acceleration of the bike really amazed me. I also didn't miss front or rear suspension. It was a
    great test for the bike too, because the trails I rode today are just looted with medium sized tree
    roots every few inches in some spots. Climbing, well, still very impressed. There were hills I
    cleared and ones I didn't. Again though, I have to say I'm very impressed at how it attacks hills.
    The handling is ultra precise, and the bike has a very light and agile feel to it. There's something
    that just begs you to ride it and ride it fast when you see it standing still. It's kind of neat
    just looking at it and not seeing all the high tech suspsension wizzardry.