Ceramic Bearing Systems and Marketing BS Systems

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mike Kruger

I'm no engineer, but I just read Lennard Zinn's column in Velonews this week, and my marketing BS
detector is ringing. Engineers on the list are welcome to chime in, if what's below if defensible.

Lennard himself says "I have no experience with (ceramic bearings), ...so I will defer to someone
who knows a lot about them." This turns out to be Bill Vance, National Sales Manager, ZIPP Speed
Weaponry. So here's Vance:

"How much benefit is possible from adopting this new technology? According to reports from real
world testing done by ZIPP sponsored Team CSC an average reduction in wattage of three to four
percent under our standard bearing systems, already the tightest standard within the industry can
be expected.

"For an average trained cyclist developing 250 watts, that's a savings of approximately 10 watts. At
any level of competition, that is significant. The key is every part of the bearing system has seen
marked improvements in precision resulting an a total benefit greater than the sum of its parts.

"Similar to current math theory, at some point numbers reach a point where the rules just don't hold
true any more."

Wow. I love the chutzpah of "at some point numbers reach a point where the rules just don't hold
true any more."

But, as I said, I'm no engineer. So, for all you engineers out there, can there possibly be that big
a difference in total system efficiency in changing from high-quality steel bearing systems to
anything else?

Full column is at: http://www.velonews.com/tech/report/articles/5327.0.html

--
Mike Kruger I didn't believe in reincarnation last time, either.

In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
> "Similar to current math theory, at some point numbers reach a point where the rules just don't
> hold true any more."
>
> Wow. I love the chutzpah of "at some point numbers reach a point where the rules just don't hold