Cervelo Soloist Team (2002) Frame - Opinions on condition sought....

n707301

Nov 14, 2007
Hi all,

I've already posted this question on Cerelo's own forum which I visit frequently, but I though I would try opening this up to a slighly wider audience. I've been reading both forums on and off for months now as I slowly save up for my first road bike! I've cycled a touring bike for years and done tens of thousands of miles on it (commuting, holidays etc), but without a roadbike I was finding cycling in clubs simply a non-starter!

Now, normally as I am new to a sport, I would not go straight for such a great bike as a Cervelo, but due to the UK governments Cycle2Work scheme offering a 40% discount on a new bike up to £1000, it seems silly to not spend the full amount and go for something really great (yes, I know a Soloist frame, forks and all the bits is way more than £1000, but I am justifying it?!?!)

Anyway, while waiting, I noticed this frame on Ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=190167568205&

I've already been buying the parts off ebay to kit out a 2008 Soloist Team frame and forks (LBS build price is unexplainably high and they wont assemble for a test ride!), I decided to take a chance on go for this frameset. To a certain extent I felt better about not blowing a huge wad of cash on a brand new frame when I am so new to competitive cycling.

Anyway, the frame and forks arrived yesterday. They were rattling arround losely in a huge box with only a tiny bit of bubble wrap just placed in with them. The frame was in no way protected.... not wrapped in bubble wrap, neither the forks or the wheel dropsouts protected from impact. Just loose.

In addition I am not happy with the condition of the bike. I don't think this is as a result of the transportation. The ebay auction described the condition as: