Chain Link Removal Tool

Carrera

Feb 2, 2004
I've never done this before. I purchased the chain link tool and tried it on an old chain today. They also sold me a fresh link which comes in 2 tiny parts.
Anyway, I used the tool and found I could push the pin almost all the way out of any particular link and then the chain would come undone.
However, I didn't see a way to remove this connecting pin right out of the to the point it would come right out and drop in my hand.
What I did find was it was possible to simply reconnect the chain again. I simply joined the chain back together where I had broken the link, squeezed with pliars and found the pin (3 quarters of the way out) went 90 per cent back into its former position, thus joining the chain.
However, I had to tap the pin end with a hammer to get it all the way back in. It seemed good as new.
Anyway is this wrong? I think the shop intended for me to use this link they sold me but I'm not sure how it's done. Possibly the way I did it is O.K. regardless? I just tapped the former link back in and that was that.

NO! You can't reuse the pin that way. The ends are peened to retain the pin and you've removed the peening. The pin will work its way out and you'd better hope that a broken chain is the only damage.

The chain tool should be able to push the pin all the way out (does it have an adjustable anvil - the part that the back link rests on?). If it won't then you can use the pliers to work it the rest of the way out.

I suspect the LBS gave you a quick-link. It replaces one outer link: two pins, two link pieces. With it you don't need the chain tool to break the chain (and don't need the tool to install the quick link). It's fairly intuitive but ask questions if you need to.