Chainring wear on the track?

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by Pete Biggs, Apr 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pete Biggs

Pete Biggs Guest

[question also posted to r.b.tech]

I've just bought a used TA 50t chainring via eBay (for more than peanuts). It was described as
    "brand new (used once on for a pursuit on the track)".

Nevermind the obvious contradiction between brand new and used, but how much wear could result from
    one track pursuit?

The teeth on this ring are noticeably hooked and have distinct ridges on the bottom of the "valleys"
    when felt with a fingernail. The wear seems the equivalent of at least 1000 miles on the road to me
    - with ordinary road bike & cycling, and I do have specific experience of TA rings so know what both
    new and well used ones look like.

I've got no personal experience with track riding, however. Are the extra stresses on the track so
    much greater that a chainring can be this worn after just one race?

Thanks for any help. I'm considering asking for a discount or refund. EBay's feedback is a handy
    facility, isn't it :)

~PB (no digital camera or scanner so can't post a picture easily)

Tags:

2. In article <[email protected]>, Pete Biggs
    <[email protected]> wrote:
    >[question also posted to r.b.tech]
    >
    >I've just bought a used TA 50t chainring via eBay (for more than peanuts). It was described as
    >"brand new (used once on for a pursuit on the track)".
    >
    >Nevermind the obvious contradiction between brand new and used, but how much wear could result from
    >one track pursuit?
    >
    >The teeth on this ring are noticeably hooked

If true that is enough reason to send it back. I wouldn't keep it. Hooking occurs after quite a
    lot of use.

--Paul

3. Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs Guest

>I've got no personal experience with track riding, however. Are the extra stresses on the track so