chest pain

sspence

Apr 27, 2004
Lately, I've been developing upper chest pain when I bike or run. It's odd because it's sporadic and when it happens, I'm not pushing hard and my breathing and heart rate are not that high. I started to feel it last night in spin class but my breathing was under control and my heart rate was 134 (my max is about 185). It is the same sensation I get when my heart rate is close to max. I've been training for triathlons for 5 years and this is something that has come up just recently. I did have a cold 6 months ago and it seemed to show up about that time, but it just hasn't gone away. I'm going to see a doctor soon, but I wanted to know if anyone else had these types of symptoms. I don't have a lot of faith in the doctors in my area. At least not in their diagnosis skills.

sspence said:
Lately, I've been developing upper chest pain when I bike or run. It's odd because it's sporadic and when it happens, I'm not pushing hard and my breathing and heart rate are not that high. I started to feel it last night in spin class but my breathing was under control and my heart rate was 134 (my max is about 185). It is the same sensation I get when my heart rate is close to max. I've been training for triathlons for 5 years and this is something that has come up just recently. I did have a cold 6 months ago and it seemed to show up about that time, but it just hasn't gone away. I'm going to see a doctor soon, but I wanted to know if anyone else had these types of symptoms. I don't have a lot of faith in the doctors in my area. At least not in their diagnosis skills.

Yes, but it was a upper GI problem and nothing to do with my respiratory system.
Your problem could be the same or something entirely different, but I thought I would throw this possibility at you.

mikesbytes said:
Could be an injury. Best to visit a doctor or 2 or 3.