Choose: OCR1, TCR1, 1200, F80

costamesanewb

Mar 15, 2006
I am just getting into biking and have been doing a ton of research. I am looking at the sub $1000 range. I have done some shopping and found 2006 models of:

Giant OCR1 -$899
Giant TCR1 - $1029
Trek 1200 - $849
Felt F80 - $809

I want a bike that I will be able to ride hard and fast, but take some 40+ mile rides on the weekends. I will probably compete in some tri's within a year or so as well. Please give me as much input as you can. I really appreciate it.

I'd go with something maybe a little higher end. There's nothing worse than buying a bike and a year later regretting it. Try to find a team or group to ride with. See if they have any connections with a local bike shop to get you a good deal on a bike. I'd suggest getting a Trek 2100 for you. It will come to about $1500 if your shop will cut you a small break. It has a decent frame with pretty good components and average wheels. It's good for you because it gives you an opportunity to upgrade if you really like cycling but even for commuting this bike will really move you along.

-Rudy

costamesanewb said:
I am just getting into biking and have been doing a ton of research. I am looking at the sub $1000 range. I have done some shopping and found 2006 models of:

Giant OCR1 -$899
Giant TCR1 - $1029
Trek 1200 - $849
Felt F80 - $809

I want a bike that I will be able to ride hard and fast, but take some 40+ mile rides on the weekends. I will probably compete in some tri's within a year or so as well. Please give me as much input as you can. I really appreciate it.

TCR1 if its the composite frame 2006

hd reynolds said:
TCR1 if its the composite frame 2006
Gee, look at the poll. The guy specified aluminum and the price, so, no, it's not the carbon fiber one he looked at.

Insight Driver said:
Gee, look at the poll. The guy specified aluminum and the price, so, no, it's not the carbon fiber one he looked at.

Where in his post did he specify its aluminum?