Choosing a bike, any opinions?

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by crashnburn, Jun 1, 2010.

1. crashnburn

crashnburn New Member

I'm new to cycling and I've decided to start with a fast hybrid before I progress into something more. Through the research I've done I've narrowed it down to the few below. I'll mainly be riding for fitness and riding with the family. Also, on longer rides with friends. I've heard good this about the Trek but its' one that does not have disc brakes. How important is it to go with disc brakes when I see a lot of road bikes without them? Any advise or opinions from some of you experienced riders would be appreciated. Thanks.

1) Trek 7.6 FX or 7.7 FX
    2) Fisher Mendota
    3) Cannondale Bad Boy Solo
    4) Cannondale Quick CX Ultra

Tags:

2. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

Rather than a Hybrid (I 'love' Hybrids with rigid forks, BTW), I recommend that you consider the JAMIS CODA:

[​IMG]

2010 JAMIS BICYCLES - SPECIFICATIONS

The MSRP for the base model is only $550.

N.B. Most-if-not-all current year bikes in inventory should be going on sale on July 1st if they have not already been placed on sale ... they essentially become NOS as dealers need to clear floor space for the 2011 bikes which will be hitting their show room floors in September.

You don't need disc brakes for riding on pavement unless you are an all-weather commuter who lives in Seattle-or-similar-environs.

If any of the bikes you've listed have a suspension fork, then scratch them off your list. Suspension forks, particularly inexpensive suspension forks (e.g., RST) make the handling clumsy. WHY PAY A PREMIUM TO MAKE THE BIKE HANDLE POORLY?

3. crashnburn

crashnburn New Member

Thanks alfeng. After looking at some models today I think I'm leaning towards the 7.6 FX which is a rigid and is lighter than the others. I looked at the upper Coda models and now I'm wondering what's the difference between that and their Allegro models.

4. alfeng