Cleaning (Spin off from: Everybody should have one)

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Ctg

So I'm still a relative newbie to the bike thing, it's been about 3-4 years since I started riding
regularly. When I started I got real compulsive with the cleaning, striping everything down,
degreasing, regreasing, etc... Long story short, don't really clean much of anything anymore, just
hose off and wipe down the moving parts, check for cracks occasionally but I really don't clean it
much anymore. I haven't noticed a huge change in the way it performs. The only problem I had with
dirt is clay-mud ripping off a derailer mid ride but that happened in the middle of a ride.

So what's the consesus, is cleaning really all that necessary? Besides making sure the moving
parts are hosed off occasionally and everything is lubed what harm is a little dirt going to do?
Like I said, I stil consider myself pretty new to the sport but some of the cleaning described
here sounds a bit OC.

Chris

"ctg" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> So I'm still a relative newbie to the bike thing, it's been about 3-4 years since I started riding
> regularly. When I started I got real compulsive with the cleaning, striping everything down,
> degreasing, regreasing, etc... Long story short, don't really clean much of anything anymore, just
> hose off and wipe down the moving parts, check for cracks occasionally but I really don't clean it
> much anymore. I haven't noticed a huge change in the way it performs. The only problem I had with
> dirt is clay-mud ripping off a derailer mid ride but that happened in the middle of a ride.
>
> So what's the consesus, is cleaning really all that necessary? Besides making sure the moving
> parts are hosed off occasionally and everything is lubed what harm is a little dirt going to do?
> Like I said, I stil consider myself pretty new to the sport but some of the cleaning described
> here sounds a bit OC.
>
> Chris